Coup aborted

By Ergo Correspondent

The “rebels” are back in the fold and the coup has failed. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday released the names of 79 cricketers who have received amnesty from the “ever-generous” parent body after severing all ties with the Indian Cricket League (ICL).

The players will be eligible to return to the mainstream immediately and will be up for selection for their respective domestic sides. “The BCCI, after scrutinising their requests, has written to the concerned state associations that these players are eligible to play in the domestic tournaments for this year,” BCCI secretary N. Srinivasan said. “Guidelines with respect to participation in the Indian Premier League will be intimated in due course.”

The Board had already decided that all players will have to serve a one-year cooling off period before becoming eligible to play international cricket for the country.

The list included 79 current players, 11 ex-internationals and 11 support staff. This exodus leaves ICL with only five of its original 84 Indian cricketers. A few of the foreign players are also reported to have terminated their contracts and the proposed November tournament of the League now looks a distant dream.

Interestingly though, ICL chairman Kapil Dev and his former teammate and ICL board member Kiran More were not amongst those who had applied for amnesty. “We are happy that the players will again get a chance to play for the country. We wanted the players to get maximum exposure and I think we have achieved our immediate goal,” More said. “Our struggle and fight against the monopoly will continue.”

Former Indian middle-order batsman, Hemang Badani, who played 40 ODIs and four Test matches for the country before switching allegiance, welcomed the BCCI move. “I hope we can quickly get back into the mainstream,” Badani said. “I am looking forward to playing for my state again. Considering that I can hit hard, field and bowl too, I am looking at an IPL slot too.”

List of players

Rajiv Kumar, Kiran Powar, Rakesh Patel, Shiv Sagar Singh, Abhiskek Jhunjhunwala, Subhomoy Das, Sayed Akhlakh Ahamad, Rohan Gavaskar, Subhjit Paul, Deep Dasgupta, Robin Morris, Nikhil Mandale, Shreyas Khanolkar, Tejinder Pal Singh, P. Vivek, J.P. Yadav, Baburao Yadav, Avinash Yadav, Suyesh Burkul, Dheeraj Jadhav, Raviraj Patil, Pushkaraj Joshi, Anupam Sanklecha, Ranjeet Khirid, Abhinav Bali, Kunal Lal, Abid Nabi, Dhruv Mahajan, T. Sudhindra, Mohnish Mishra, Abbas Ali, Sachin Dholpure, Shridhar Iyer, Abhishek Tamrakar, Bhima Rao, Syed Zakaria Zuffri, Parviz Aziz, Abu Nechim Ahmed, Sujay Tarafder, Pritam Das, Dinesh Mongia, Reetinder Sodhi, Karanveer Singh, Harpreet Singh, Sumit Kalia, Love Ablish, Rajesh Sharma, Sarabjeet Singh, Ishan Malhotra, Bipul Sharma, Amit Uniyal, Stuart Binny, Abdul Azeem Khan, Alfred Absolom, Ibrahim Khaleel, Indra Shekar Reddy, P.S. Niranjan, Anirudh Singh, Shashank Nag, Ambati Rayudu, Syed Shahbuddin, Hemang Badani, V. Devendran, G. Vignesh, Syed Mohammed, R. Jesuraj, S. Sriram, R. Sathish, K. Martin Sanjeev, T. Kumaran, S. Vasanth Saravanan, J. Hariesh, D. Tamilkumaran, C. Hemant Kumar, Gaurav Gupta, Avinash Yadav, Shalabh Srivastava, Ali Murtaza and Ali Hamid Zaidi.


Sandeep Patil, E.A.S. Prasanna, Madan Lal, Rajesh Kamath, Karsan Ghavri, Pranob Roy, Ashok Malhotra, Rajesh Chauhan, Balwinder Singh Sandhu, Bharat Reddy, Atul Wassan and Ajit Wadekar.


One Response to “Coup aborted”

  1. KATHIRAMAKRISHNA on April 3rd, 2011 12:37 am


Got something to say?

E-mail It